Research on Ekadashi.  

Conclusions:

​ This article is a detailed study on Ekadashi. Supplements supported by evidence are welcome. It is not rational to spend time on the rest. 

Below are the conclusions  with navigation through the evidence from the texts.  Be sure to read to the end.  You will be very surprised.  

  1. Ekadashi tradition  - not Vedic ,  as stated elsewhere but much later.​ In short, in addition to modern texts, it is described only in the Puranas .

  2. In the Ramayana and Mahabharata, there is not a word about Ekadashi either.

  3. Even most of the Puranas say  the glories of performing Dvadashi after Ekadashi. Thus, it is not the fast itself that is important, but the day that follows it, when the mind of the fasting person is cleared for prayer.

  4. The first  mentions on stone inscriptions - not earlier  200 BC n. e .

  5. The exact, everywhere published hours of exit from the post are not described anywhere.

  6. Nowhere is it written that you can not eat legumes . This is a false mis-translation. Most sources say that you should neither eat nor drink.   There are still some indulgences, but completely different.

  7. There is also nowhere about the influence of the moon on the mind.

  8. The reason for all this is that only some of the texts were studied, while others were set aside.  

 

Vedas and Ekadashi.

  • In the four Vedas, incl. brahmanah,  Ramayana,  Mahabharata and Harivamsa do not mention the term "Ekadashi-vrata", nor the tradition of fasting on this day, nor Papa Purusha and the entry of sins into food, nor the special connection of this day with Vishnu or Hari, nor the special role of the 11th day in general.  

​​

  • Nor is there in Manu-samhita.

​​

  • In the Narada Purana (2.24.12-13)  even  the conversation between the adversary and the supporter of the vrata, wife and husband is given: "Observance of fasting on the day of Hari is not mentioned in the Vedas. Brahmanas who maintain the sacred fires do not accept fasting. Why do you want to observe a ritual alien to the Vedic dharma (veda-bAhya dharmam)?" (Narada Purana 2.24.12-13). In response, the husband admits that the Ekadasis are from the Puranas, but says that they are more primordial and superior than the Vedas. A group of summoned Vedic expert brahmanas agreed with his wife: “You did not compose this from the sight of the sastras, but invented it with your own mind. And it is said that those who maintain the sacred fires should eat at both junctions [of day and night]. of the three varnas must eat the remains of the homa, so how can one harness himself to fasting, especially for the [kings-] defenders of the land? " (2.25.2-4).  

 

  • The Puranas tell stories about how the heroes of the Ramayana and Mahabharata discussed and observed Ekadashi, but in the Ramayana and Mahabharata themselves there are no such stories (about   Rame and Vijaya Ekadashi -  in Padma Purana 6.44,  Bhime and Nirjala Ekadashi in Padma Purana 6.51,   that Gandhari lost her sons because of fasting on mixed Ekadashi in Garuda Purana 1.125.2, Skanda Purana 2.4.33.36-38.

 

  • In the Mahabharata in the southern version of the Kumbhaghonam edition in chapter 14.114  Yudhisthira asks how one should worship in krsna-paksi dvadasi, and Krishna replies: 

zRNu rAjan yathA-pUrvaM tat-sarvaM kathayAmi te. 

paramaM kRSNa-dvAdazyAm arcanAyAM phalaM mama

ekAdazyAm upoSyAtha dvAdazyAm arcayet tu mAm.

viprAn api yathA-lAbhaM pUjayed bhaktimAn naraH 

The supreme fruit of worship in krsna dvadasi

After fasting on Ekadashi, then worshiping me on Dvadashi 

Respecting a brahmana, one with devotion should perform puja. 

He will come to Me-Dakshinamurti, there is no doubt about it  

This is mentioned precisely in the southern version, known for its insertions, and is mentioned only 1 time and no more in any other sections. V  of the same southern version of the Mahabharata there is a similar chapter 13.171 12 dvadasi-vrata are advised.

     Dvadashi

  •   At Brihad Samhita Varahamihira 105.14-15  it speaks of fasting in Dvadasi. 

  • In Narada Purana 1.17 :, 2.121: every shukla-dvadashi fast

  •   In Skanda Purana 2.7.24 is glorified  sukla-dvadasi Vaisakhi, fasting in dvadasi and interruption in trayodasi.

  • Dvadasi-vrata in Agni Purana 188. 

  • Dvadashi is called Hari day in Garuda Purana 1.116.7, Kesava day in Garuda Purana 1.124.3.

  • Ekadashi  in these scriptures it is not Vishnu that is called the day, but Rishis (Garuda 116.6), Yama (p. 48), Rudra (Brihat-samhita of Varahamihira). 

  • Pancharatra:  in the Ishvara-samhita, Dvadashi is emphasized; Ekadashi is not mentioned in the review.  

Dvadashi and Ekadashi

  • Vishnu-smrti 49: "Having fasted on the eleventh day of the light half of the month of Margashirsa, on the twelfth day, let him honor Bhagavan Sri Vasudeva with flowers, incense, rubbing, lighting lamps and food, saturating fire and brahmanas." 

  • Kurma Purana  2.26.32-33: "one should fast on the 11th day and worship Purushottama on the 12th through [worship] a brahmana ... the 12th day of the bright half belongs to Vishnu",

  •   Kurma  2.34.105-106 "One should abstain from food on Ekadashi-tithi and worship on Dvadashi of the light half", 

  • in Padma Purana 6.233.2-8: "today all these people who were fasting the previous day, now, with the rising of the Sun on Dvadasi, they worship Me with great faith and devotion along with Lakshmi and Tulasi." 

  • Srimad Bhagavatam 9.4.30: "After three days of fasting, Ambarisa, having bathed in the Yamuna, performed the ceremony of worshiping Hari in Madhuvan." His fast is twice called dvadasi-vrata, and the word ekadasi is not even used.  

 

Puranas and Ekadashi

  • Narada Purana 1.120 briefly describes the 24 Ekadashi years.

  • Vishnu-smrti 49: "Having fasted on the eleventh day of the light half of the month of Margashirsa, on the twelfth day, let him honor Bhagavan Sri Vasudeva with flowers, incense, rubbing, lighting lamps and food, saturating fire and brahmanas." 

  • Kurma Purana 2.26.32-33: "one should fast on the 11th day and worship Purushottama on the 12th through [worship] a brahmana ... The 12th day of the bright half belongs to Vishnu", 

  • in Kurma 2.34.105-106 "One should abstain from food on Ekadashi-tithi and worship on Dvadashi of the light half", 

  • in Padma Purana 6.233.2-8: "today all these people who were fasting the previous day, now, with the rising of the Sun on Dvadasi, they worship Me with great faith and devotion along with Lakshmi and Tulasi."

  • Brhad-brahma-samhita: In verse 3.10.3, observing Ekadasi is one of the three most important things for a Vaisnava, and chapter 4.5 is entirely devoted to Ekadasi-vrata. True, this is clearly a late text, since it is not listed in other pancaratra agamas. 

  • Lakshmi Tantra 10.41. “One must know the deity that performs the maintenance, creation and dissolution, accompanied by all the instruments on whose instructions the universe stands.” In Ch. 7-8 describes the worship of such a God of the universe by the method of annual gates. The basic annual gate for all varnas and women is from sunset dashas to sunset dvadasi, 12 months from [shukla-pakshi] karttika. 

  • Pancharatra:  In the Parama-purusha-samhita there is a chapter 10 on Ekadasi-vrata. Brihad-brahma-samhita: In verse 3.10.3, observing Ekadasi is one of the three most important things for a Vaisnava, and chapter 4.5 is entirely devoted to Ekadasi-vrata.

​​

The first stone inscriptions about  Ekadashi

Ekadashi in epigraphy (inscriptions on memorial plates, discs, etc.).

  •   Dynasty Vakataka (200-550 AD), inscriptions in their honor inform about gifts in Dvadashi or Trayodashi

  • the book about the Kalachuri dynasty (7-13 centuries) mentions gifts in shukla-trayodashi

  • Ekadashi gifts are mentioned in the Chalukya Badami inscriptions (655-753)  

  •   Yadavov (850-1330)

  • Ekadashi is clearly referred to as the "day of Hari" in the Kannada inscription at Hebbal, which dates back to 1248. 

  • In Kanchipuram there is an inscription from 1230 that the king observes Ekadashi-vrata as the best of the gates.

The geography of all these inscriptions is central and southern India.

 

Where are the hours of leaving the post described?

  • In Sattvata-samhita (8.80, 134-135) the exact time is indicated in the above  Puranas too.

  • Verses HBV 13.229-230, 236 hint that this is done in the morning, although it is not explicitly stated.

  • It is said that modern calculations are based on  Vishnudharmottara Purana, but in the extant text of Vishnudharmottara there are no such verses. There is a similar phrase only in   Nirnaya-amrita  and Madana-ratne. Nirnaya-amrita is a treatise of Alladanatha of the 15th century, Madana-ratna is a treatise of the 15th century, written for the ruler of Madanasimha.

 

Ban on pulses

  •   In Pancaratra, in all the descriptions of Ekadashi, there is not a word about pulses, the need to follow all one's life; it is not said that the 11th day is the day of Vishnu or the day of Hari, a day somehow especially connected or dedicated to Him. Also, the meaning of abstinence from food has not been explained, what is the meaning of this.

​​

  • In every article or note, the word "pulses" is constantly looming. But in the primary sources  this prohibition is not mentioned anywhere

  • In the modern translation of the story about Papa Purusha, it is written 7 times "grain". However, in  in the original (22.45-52) the word anna was used 5 times, and at the end it said  na bhoktavyaM na bhoktavyaM na bhokavyaM kadAcana - "do not eat, do not taste, never taste". 


Anna has secondary meanings "rice, grain", but the primary meaning is "food", Ashtanga-hridaya-samhita 1.6 lists 7 types of anna: cereals, legumes, dishes, meat, vegetables, fruits, herbs. To designate grain, cereals, there is a separate word dhAnA , dhAnya .  From shruti it is clear that originally anna  meant food in general, food. Medieval commentators Shankar and Madhusudana decipher anna as "eaten" (annAt bhakSyAt; annAt bhuktAt),  and modern Prabhupada understands it as "cereals."  

​​

In the text about Papa Purusha  If he eats on Ekadashi, he receives all sins, goes to hell, degrades, and so on. And with a legume substitution, it turns out "you can eat, even Ekadash feasts are acceptable, just exclude legumes."  

 

  • A similar situation is with Bhakti-sandarbha - ekAdazyAM tu yo bhunkte "who eats on Ekadashi",  ekAdazyAM na bhoktavyam "He does not partake of Ekadashi." The modern Prabhupada adds the words "grain or gave" to the text, but the author of the text did not write such words: atra vaiSNavAnAM nirAhAratvaM nAma mahA-prasAdAnna-parityAga eva "Here Vaishnavas are in a state of non-eating, even mahaprasad food is rejected." 

  • SB 2.3.4, medieval Sridhara and Visvanatha write annAdyaM bhojyaM bhakSyaM ca "[this is] what is swallowed and what is chewed", and modern Prabhupada writes "grains."

  • SB 10.7.5 medieval Sanatana also understands annAdya as bhakSya-bhojya, what is chewed and what is swallowed, and modern Prabhupada means "abundance of grains and other foods."


 

What are described  real relief in the post ?

  •   Narada 2.12.91-92 , 2.23.74 , Padma 6.38.19, 20-27 , Garuda 1.136.3 allow food nakta (the night before), ekabhakta (once a day) and ayachita (unsolicited), but the types of food allowed are not specified ...

  • Narada 2.24.7-9 allows for weak roots, fruits, milk and water. But boiled food, vegetables, nuts, sugar, sour cream, cottage cheese and other milk derivatives are still not mentioned.

  • Hari Bhakti Vilasa: four verses allow fruit and milk, three roots, one ghee.  

The "tidal" influence of the moon on water in the body 

Over the past decades, to explain the reasons for fasting, there have appeared  theory about special  influence  The moon is on the water in the body and on the senses.   

 

Yes, the Vedas speak of a special connection between the Moon and the mind (Subala-up. 5, Brihad-aranyaka-up. 2.5.7), but there is no particular influence of the 11th phase on the mind or body. Shastras (Matsya Purana 123.30-35, p.411-412, 3.2-3.4) influence  Moon on ocean tides with  Ekadashi  do not tie.

  If this is true why no one  haven't said that before?  

Ekadashi in the modern world is explained only by Vaishnavs. The logic of the rituals using the year and time cycles is explained only in the brahmanas, and the Vaishnavas have not studied the brahmanas for a long time.

Исследование об Экадаши. 

Выводы:

​Эта статья - подробное исследование об экадаши. Дополнения, агрументированные доказательствами - приветствуются. На остальное тратить время не рационально. 

Ниже - выводы  с навигацией по доказательствам из текстов. Обязательно прочтите до конца. Вы очень удивитесь. 

  1. Традиция об экадаши  - не ведическая,  как утверждается повсеместно а намного позднее. ​Если коротко, то помимо современных текстов она описана только в Пуранах.

  2. В Рамаяне и Махабхарате тоже ни слова об Экадаши нет.

  3. Даже в большинстве Пуран говорится  о славе выполнения Двадаши после Экадаши. Таким образом, важен не сам пост, а день , который следует за ним, когда разум постящегося очищен для молитвы.

  4. Первые упоминания на каменных надписях - не раньше 200 гг. н. э.

  5. Точные, везде публикуемые часы выхода из поста нигде не описаны.

  6. Нигде не написано, что можно не есть зернобобовые. Это ложный неверный перевод. В большинстве источников написано о том, что не надо ни есть, ни пить.  Послабления все же есть, но совершенно другие.

  7. Про влияние Луны на ум тоже нигде нет.

  8. Причина всего этого - в том, что изучалась только часть текстов, а другие были отложены в сторону. 

 

Веды и экадаши.

  • В четырёх Ведах, в т.ч. брахманах, Рамаяне, Махабхарате и Харивамше не упоминаются ни термин "экадаши-врата", ни традиция поститься в этот день, ни Папа-пуруша и вхождение грехов в еду, ни особая связь этого дня с Вишну или Хари, ни особая роль 11го дня вообще. 

  • В Ману-самхите тоже нет.

  • В Нарада-пуране (2.24.12-13) даже приводится беседа противницы и сторонника враты, жены и мужа: "соблюдение поста в день Хари не упоминается в Ведах. Брахманы, поддерживающие священные огни, не принимают пощение. Зачем же ты желаешь соблюдать ритуал, чуждый дхарме Вед (veda-bAhya dharmam)?" (Нарада-пурана 2.24.12-13). В ответ муж признает, что экадаши из Пуран, но говорит что они изначальнее и верховнее Вед. С женой согласна группа вызванных брахманов-экспертов Веды: "Ты составил это не из взгляда шастр, а выдумал своим умом. И сказано, что те, кто поддерживает священные огни, должны вкушать на обеих стыках [дня и ночи]. Известно, что члены трёх варн должны вкушать остатки с хомы, так как можно впрягаться в пост, особенно [царям-]защитникам земель?" (2.25.2-4). 

 

  • В пуранах рассказываются истории о том, как герои Рамаяны и Махабхараты обсуждали и соблюдали экадаши, но в самих Рамаяне и Махабхарате таких историй нет (о  Раме и Виджая-экадаши - в Падма-пуране 6.44 , Бхиме и Нирджала-экадаши в Падма-пуране 6.51,  что Гандхари потеряла сыновей из-за поста в смешанный экадаши в Гаруда-пуране 1.125.2, Сканда-пуране 2.4.33.36-38.

 

  • В Махабхарате в южной версии редакции Кумбхагхонам в главе 14.114 Юдхиштхира спрашивает, как нужно поклоняться в двадаши кришна-пакши, и Кришна отвечает: 

zRNu rAjan yathA-pUrvaM tat-sarvaM kathayAmi te . 

paramaM kRSNa-dvAdazyAm arcanAyAM phalaM mama

ekAdazyAm upoSyAtha dvAdazyAm arcayet tu mAm .

viprAn api yathA-lAbhaM pUjayed bhaktimAn naraH 

О высшем плоде поклонений в кришна-двадаши

В экадаши пропостившись, затем в двадаши нужно провести поклонение мне 

Почтив брахмана, человек с преданность должен провести пуджу 

Он придёт ко Мне-Дакшинамурти, тут нет сомнений 

Это упоминается именно в южной версии, известной своими вставками, и упоминается всего 1 раз и больше ни в каких других разделах. В той же южной версии Махабхараты есть похожая глава 13.171 советуются 12 двадаши-врат.

       Двадаши

  •  В Брихад-самхите Варахамихиры 105.14-15 говорится о посте в двадаши. 

  • В Нарада-пуране 1.17:, 2.121: каждое шукла-двадаши поститься

  •  В Сканда-пуране 2.7.24 прославляется  шукла-двадаши Вайшакхи, пост в двадаши и прерывание в трайодаши.

  • Двадаши-врата в Агни-пуране 188. 

  • Двадаши названа днём Хари в Гаруда-пуране 1.116.7, днём Кешавы в Гаруда-пуране 1.124.3.

  • Экадаши в этих писаниях называется днём не Вишну, а риши (Гаруда 116.6), Ямы (с.48), Рудры (Брихат-самхита Варахамихиры). 

  • Панчаратра: в Ишвара-самхите особо выделяется двадаши, экадаши в обзоре не упоминается. 

Двадаши и экадаши

  • Вишну-смрити 49: "Пропостившись в одиннадцатый день светлой половины месяца Маргаширша, в двенадцатый день пусть почтит Бхагавана Шри Васудеву цветами, благовониями, притираниями, возжиганием светильников и пищей, насыщая огонь и брахманов." 

  • Курма-пурана 2.26.32-33: "нужно поститься в 11й день и поклоняться Пурушоттаме в 12й через [почитание] брахмана... 12й день светлой половины принадлежит Вишну",

  •  Курма 2.34.105-106 "Нужно воздерживаться от пищи в экадаши-титхи и поклоняться в двадаши светлой половины", 

  • в Падма-пуране 6.233.2-8: "сегодня все эти люди, что соблюдали пост в предыдущий день, теперь, с восходом Солнца в двадаши, поклоняются с великой верой и преданностью Мне вместе с Лакшми и Туласи". 

  • Шримад Бхагаватам 9.4.30: "после трехдневного поста Амбариша, омывшись в Ямуне, совершил в Мадхуване обряд поклонения Хари". Его пост дважды называется двадаши-вратой, а слово экадаши даже не используется. 

 

Пураны и экадаши

  • В Нарада-пуране 1.120 кратко описываются 24 экадаши года

  • Вишну-смрити 49: "Пропостившись в одиннадцатый день светлой половины месяца Маргаширша, в двенадцатый день пусть почтит Бхагавана Шри Васудеву цветами, благовониями, притираниями, возжиганием светильников и пищей, насыщая огонь и брахманов." 

  • Курма-пуране 2.26.32-33: "нужно поститься в 11й день и поклоняться Пурушоттаме в 12й через [почитание] брахмана... 12й день светлой половины принадлежит Вишну", 

  • в Курме 2.34.105-106 "Нужно воздерживаться от пищи в экадаши-титхи и поклоняться в двадаши светлой половины", 

  • в Падма-пуране 6.233.2-8: "сегодня все эти люди, что соблюдали пост в предыдущий день, теперь, с восходом Солнца в двадаши, поклоняются с великой верой и преданностью Мне вместе с Лакшми и Туласи".

  • Брихад-брахма-самхита: в стихе 3.10.3 соблюдение экадаши - одна из трёх важнейших вещей для вайшнава, и глава глава 4.5 целиком посвящена экадаши-врате. Правда, это уже явно поздний текст, т.к. его нет в списках в других панчаратра-агамах. 

  • Лакшми-тантра 10.41. “Нужно знать то божество, что исполняет поддержание, творение и растворение, сопровождаемое всеми инструментами, по чьим указаниям стоит вселенная” .В гл. 7-8 описано поклонение такому Богу мироздания методом годовых врат. Базовая годовая врата для всех варн и женщин: с заката дашами по закат двадаши, 12 месяцев начиная с [шукла-пакши] Карттики. 

  • Панчаратра: в Парама-пуруша-самхите есть глава 10 об экадаши-врате.Брихад-брахма-самхита: в стихе 3.10.3 соблюдение экадаши - одна из трёх важнейших вещей для вайшнава, и глава глава 4.5 целиком посвящена экадаши-врате.

Первые каменные надписи об экадаши

Экадаши в эпиграфиках (надписях на памятных плитах, дисках и т.п.).

  •  династии Вакатака (200-550 гг. н.э.), надписи в их честь сообщают сообщают о дарах в двадаши или трайодаши

  • в книге о династии Калачури (7-13 вв.) упоминаются дары в шукла-трайодаши

  • дары по случаю экадаши упоминаются в надписях Чалукьев Бадами (655-753) 

  •  Ядавов (850-1330)

  • Чёткое упоминание экадаши как "дня Хари" имеется в надписи на каннаде в Хеббале, которая датируется 1248 г. 

  • В Канчипурам есть надпись 1230 г. о том, что царь соблюдает экадаши-врату как лучшую из врат.

География всех указанных надписей - центральная и южная Индия.

 

Где описаны часы выхода из поста?

  • В Саттвата-самхите (8.80, 134-135) точное время указано, в перечисленных выше пуранах тоже.

  • Стихи ХБВ 13.229-230, 236 намекают, что это делается утром, хотя прямо не говорится.

  • Говорится, что современные рассчеты базируются на Вишнудхармоттара-пуране, но в дошедшем до нас тексте Вишнудхармоттары таких стихов нет. Есть похожая фраза только в  Нирная-амрите и Мадана-ратне. Нирная-амрита - это трактат Алладанатха 15 века, Мадана-ратна - трактат 15 века, написанный для правителя Маданасимхи.

 

Запрет на зернобобовые

  •  В Панчаратре во всех описаниях экадаши нет ни слова про зернобобовые, необходимость следовать всю жизнь; не сказано, что 11 день - это день Вишну или день Хари, день, как-то особо связанный или посвящённый Ему. Также не объяснён смысл воздержания от пищи, какой смысл в это вкладывается.

  • В каждой статье или заметке постоянно маячит слово "зернобобовые" .Но в первоисточниках нигде не упоминается этот запрет

  • В современном переводе истории о Папа-пуруше 7 раз написано "зерновые". Однако в оригинале (22.45-52) 5 раз использовалось слово anna, а в конце говорилось  na bhoktavyaM na bhoktavyaM na bhokavyaM kadAcana - "не вкушать, не вкушать, не вкушать никогда". 


У anna бывают вторичные значения "рис, зерно", но первичное значение - именно "еда", Аштанга-хридая-самхита 1.6 перечисляет 7 видов анны: зерновые, бобовые, блюда, мясо, овощи, фрукты, травы. Для обозначения именно зерна, зерновых есть отдельное слово dhAnA, dhAnya. Из шрути совершенно ясно, что изначально anna означало именно еду вообще, пищу. Средневековые комментаторы Шанкара и Мадхусудана расшифровывают anna как "вкушаемое" (annAt bhakSyAt; annAt bhuktAt), а современный Прабхупада понимает это как "злаки". 

В тексте о Папа Пуруше гворится: кушающий в экадаши получает все грехи, идёт в ад, деградирует и т.п. А при зернобобовой подмене получается "есть можно, допустимы даже экадашные пиры, просто исключите зернобобовые". 

 

  • Похожая ситуация с Бхакти-сандарбхой - ekAdazyAM tu yo bhunkte "кто в экадаши вкушает",  ekAdazyAM na bhoktavyam "в экадаши не вкушается". Современный Прабхупада добавляет в текст слова "зерновые или дал", но автор текста таких слов не писал: atra vaiSNavAnAM nirAhAratvaM nAma mahA-prasAdAnna-parityAga eva "Тут вайшнавы в состоянии неедения, даже пища-махапрасад отвергается. " 

  • ШБ 2.3.4, средневековые Шридхара и Вишванатха пишут annAdyaM bhojyaM bhakSyaM ca "[это] то, что глотают и что жуют", а современный Прабхупада пишет "зерновые".

  • ШБ 10.7.5 средневековый Санатана тоже понимает annAdya как bhakSya-bhojya, то, что жуют и что глотают, а современный Прабхупада - "изобилие зерна и других продуктов".


 

Какие описаны реальные послабления в посте?

  •  Нарада 2.12.91-92, 2.23.74, Падма 6.38.19, 20-27, Гаруда 1.136.3 дозволяют пищу накта (накануне ночи), экабхакта (раз в день) и аячита (непопрошенная), однако виды дозволенной пищи не уточняются.

  • Нарада 2.24.7-9 дозволяет для слабых коренья, фрукты, молоко и воду. Но варёная пища, овощи, орехи, сахар, сметана, творог и пр. производные молока всё равно не упоминаются.

  • Хари Бхакти Виласа: четыре стиха дозволяют фрукты и молоко, три коренья, один гхи. 

"Приливное" влияние Луны на воду в организме 

Последние десятилетия для объяснения причин поста появились теория об особом влиянии Луны на воду в организме и на чувства.  

 

Да, в Ведах говорится об особой связи Луны и ума (Субала-уп. 5, Брихад-араньяка-уп. 2.5.7), но об особом влиянии именно 11й фазы на ум или организм - нет. Шастры (Матсья-пурана 123.30-35, с.411-412, 3.2-3.4) влияние Луны на океанские приливы с экадаши  не увязывают.

 Если это верно, почему никто  не говорил такого раньше? 

Экадаши в современном мире разъясняются только вайшнавами. Логика ритуалов, использующих год и временные циклы, объясняется только в брахманах, а вайшнавы уже давно не изучают брахманы.